St. Vincent and the Grenadines Basketball Federation

Executive and Contact Info

President : Cleophas Glynn

Phone: (784) 526-5162

Executive Committee
  • Darron John – General Secretary;
    – (784) 530-9171 / 454-4147
  • Cleophas Glynn – President
  • Conrad Simon – 1st Vice President
  • Sonja Lewis – 2nd Vice President
  • Darwin Vanloo – 3rd Vice President
  • Wayne Williams – PRO
  • Karel Bramble – Games Secretary

11th Bequia Basketball Tournament opens

11th Bequia Basketball Tournament opens


The Bequia Basketball Eleventh Annual Tournament opened in fine style at the Clive Tannis Hard Court in Bequia on last Saturday July 11th. 

Eleven teams, representing 132 players, ages 6 to 28, in 3 divisions marched in the Opening Ceremony, with team Duke winning the cake prize for the best dressed.

To start the programme, youngsters Christian Friday, Ondine and Ella Mitchell Sutton played the national anthem on steel pan.

Ladies B’ball Finals

Ladies B’ball Finals

Campden Park Secondary School (CPSS) defeats Bequia Community High School (BCHS) 100 - 58

Top Scorers
Campden Park Secondary School
#12 - Shanice Daniel: 94, MVP of both the Tournament and the finals; a member of the Under 16 National Basketball Team.

Bequia Community High School
#8 - Shantel Joseph: 48

Closing & Trophy Presentation Bequia Tenth Anniversary Tournament

Bequia Tech Rising Stars 2008 First Division Champions

The Tenth Anniversary Bequia Basketball Tournament came to a conclusion on Saturday September 13th at the Clive Tannis Hard Court, with the final game in this year’s competition and presentation of awards, medals and trophies. Bequia Tech Rising Stars emerged as 2008 Champions of the First Division, while Young Blazers took the Second Division title and Admiralty Transport Eagles took the Under 16. All division finals were best of three series.  


Vincentian Sophia Christopher Young for WNBA MVP!

Sophia Young
of St Vincent and the Grenadines is one of thirty two (32) WNBA players named for possible selection as the WNBA MVP, the highest individual achievement for the players of the WNBA.

For the first time fans can help decide the 2008 WNBA MVP (Most Valuable Player) Award by casting their votes online at    

Fans can cast votes through September 15.

The recipient of the 2008 WNBA Most Valuable Player Award will be announced during the WNBA Playoffs.

Please note:
·        Online fan vote will comprise 25% of the total MVP vote.

·        Media vote will make up the remaining 75% of the vote.

Bequia All-Stars Grenadines Hoops Champions

2008 Grenadines Basketball Champions Bequia All-Stars

Damian Harry of Canouan Tournament MVP

Victory is sweet for The Bequia All-Stars who defeated the Union Island All-Stars by 12 points to claim the 2008 title of the Annual Grenadines Basketball Championship, a prize that has eluded them for three years!  Coming into the final round undefeated, the Bequia team were the favorite to win this year’s Tournament and did not disappoint all expectations.

Grenadines Tournament 2008 Trophy presentation/results:

2008 Champions: Bequia All-Stars
Winning Coach: Junior Sutton
Second Place: Union Island All-Stars
Third Place: Mustique Icon

Overall Tournament MVP: The Adonal Foyle Award:
DAMIAN HARRY of Canouan Islanders    

6th place: Carriacou with 30 pts
5th place: Mayreau Kings with 30 pts
4th place: Mustique Icon with 30 pts (4th place TROPHY)
3rd place:

Sixth Annual Grenadines Tournament: Final Results

Friday May 30th:
Carriacou defeat Mayreau Kings 70 to 67
-leading scorer Carriacou: Lennon Lynch with 23 pts, 7 reb, 2 blks
-leading scorer Mayreau: Richard Williams with 25 pts

Saturday May 31st: Semi Finals:
Union Island defeat Canouan Islanders 78 to 69 to qualify for finals
-leading scorer Union: Philmon Taylor with 21 pts, 10 reb, 4ast, 3steals

Bequia All-Stars undefeated!

The Bequia All-Stars head into the final round of the Grenadines Championship undefeated with a 5 and 0 win/loss record. The Bequia team, coached by Junior Sutton defeated all teams in the first round of competition, including the Union Island All-Stars 62 to 45 on Friday and the Canouan Islanders 77 to 68 on Sunday.
In Friday’s match up, Jonas

Sixth Annual Grenadines Tournament: Weekend Results

Friday May 23rd: in Bequia
Bequia All-Stars defeat Union Island All-Stars 62 to 45
-leading scorers Bequia: Jonas King and Michael Peniston with 15 pts ea
-leading scorer Union Island: Philmon Taylor with 18 pts

Saturday May 24th: in Canouan
Game 1: Mayreau Kings defeat Mustique Icon 64 to 60
-leading scorer Mayreau: Wesfield Froget with 26 pts, 7 reb,

Grenadines Hoops Championship Opens in Union Island


Intense hoop action dominated the scene in Union Island over the weekend, as the Sixth Annual Grenadines Championship bounced off on Friday May 16th to an exciting start. Defending Champions Union Island All-Stars won all three of their games over the three-day period, defeating Mustique, Mayreau and Carriacou, but the Bequia All-Stars have taken the lead in the standings, after winning all three games against Mustique, Mayreau and Carriacou with the best goal diffference. The Canouan Islanders also came out to play, winning their first three matchups for the first time ever, to take 2nd position to date. The Union Island All-Stars are close on their backs in third. The Mustique Icon and Mayreau Kings competed well but unfortunately lost a disappointing three games each. Fans were rewarded well in all nine games of the weekend’s sports entertainment, with spectacular dunks, blocks and defense on display, as testimony to the obvious wealth of talent in the Grenadines.