2006 1st Division Champs, Rising Stars

Rising Stars of Paget Farm have recorded their first-ever victory in the top division, as the Eighth Annual Bequia Basketball Tournament came to an exciting conclusion this past weekend at the Clive Tannis hard court!
Warriaz and Hornets were the champs in the Second and Under 16 divisions, both of those competitions going to a deciding game 3, defeating Rising Stars II and Young Wizards respectively.

After an overtime one point victory in game 1, fans came out in their numbers with great anticipation to witness the historic first division victory Saturday night, in the highly competitive series between rivals Duke and Rising Stars. The players were up to the challenge, providing crowd-pleasing entertainment for the fans, both teams recording impressive

2006 2nd Division Champs, Warriaz
Series MVP Craiglee Sam, Association President Sabrina Mitchell and Rising Stars Asst. Coach Tauran Ollivierre

dunks and blocks. Coach Les Malcolm of Stars defeated two time champions Duke in two straight games. Craiglee Sam, of the victorious Paget Farm team was adjudged the series MVP and also awarded overall First Division MVP, Rising Stars MVP, and awarded most rebounds and most points, having netted 201 pts in 9 games. He also scored the most points in the deciding game two with 20.
Scoring leaders for Duke, Gosnel Gumbs contributed 17 points, while Otice Lewis added 14 points in game 2, but they failed to take their team to victory this year.  Gumbs was awarded MVP for Duke, while teammate Lewis was awarded the most blocks with 17 in 8 games.

Lindon Garrick of the Mustique Icon, and Cornelius Farrell of the 2005 champions, Trade Winds East Blazers were both deemed most valuable player’s for their respective teams. Both former Champions, Mustique and Blazers were
knocked out in the semi final round. Keithroy Lavia, also of East Blazers was adjudged the most improved player and took the most steals trophy.
Jason Lewis, whose team Westend Wizards finished in the basement spot was adjudged his team’s most valuable player.

In her thank you address, President of the Bequia Basketball Association, Sabrina Mitchell expressed her gratitude for the strong support of basketball in Bequia from the business places as well as the Bequia community, who come out in record numbers night after night to support their favorite team. She made mention of the strength and unity of the executive committee in Bequia and the enthusiastic, competent, dedicated numbers of officials, referees, and employees of the Association whose commitment ensure a smooth functioning, financially sound, and highly efficient organization, that can take credit for running on schedule for eight consecutive years, a stellar accomplishment. Special mention was made of Executive members Annette King and Michael Peniston for taking a leading role in the development of the young players!  With increasing numbers of young players entering basketball for the first time every year, the future of the game on the island is secure!
The trophy and medal presentation followed the game on Sunday with 55 awards, medals and trophies presented to teams and for individual success.
All individual awards are based on player statistics, meticulously recorded in games.

The Second Division went to a game three with Derenzo Joseph, the most valuable player for Warriaz club taking his team to victory over Rising Stars, defeating them 59 to 51.  In awards presented for Division Two, Cregg
Williams of Stars was adjudged his team’s most valuable player and awarded the most rebounds, most blocks and the most improved player in his division.
Although defeated in the knock out semi final round, Cosmus Hackshaw of Gladiatorz was adjudged the division Most Valuable Player and also netted the most points with 186 in 7 games, as well as most steals. Jemuel Hutchins
of Young Blazers whose team finished in the cellar position was awarded most steals trophy with his brother Jamal awarded the rookie of the year.
Teammate Kevin McDonald was that team’s most valuable player.

Winners in the Under 16 division as follows: Leandra Jack was adjudged team Diamonds MVP and team mate Nakeata Ollivierre the rookie of the year.
Although unable to beat Hornets, Jason Ollivierre of Young Wizards was awarded team mvp and most steals. Fifteen year old Damien Lewis dominated the awards in the young division receiving most points, most blocks, most rebounds, final series mvp, team mvp and overall division MVP.