SVG squashers dominate

The SVG Senior Squash players dominated the NLA Senior OECS Squash Championship which was held in SVG 5th – 7th June at the National Squash Center.


Some 33 participants came from SLU, BVI, Dominica and host SVG.

SVG secured Men’s Open, Men’s Over 50, Men’s over 40, Women over 40 and Women over 50 titles, while BVI took the Women’s Open and Men’s Over 60.

In the Men’s Open Vincentian Jules Snagg successfully defended the title defeating coach and mentor James Bentick 11-2, 11-3, 11-2. Othneil Bailey also of SVG took 3rd spot defeating his teammate Kevin Hannaway in a grueling match 13-11, 11-6, 12-10, 13-11, 11-7, easily the longest and most competitive match of the Men’s Open event.

Vincentian Jason Doyle took 5th spot, Dion Anselm BVI 6th, Romario Constance and Eswhan Adams of SVG took the 7th and 8th spots respectively.

In the Women’s Open Final Carol Vallee of BVI defeated Tessa Shallow SVG 11-6,11-4, 11-9. Alana McMaster (SVG) in her first OECS tournament defeated Sofia Worede (BVI) 11-4, 11-9, 11-7 to take 3rd place.

Vincentian Sherian Slater secured 2 titles in the women’s over 40 and 50 categories, Slater defeated Carol Valle (BVI) in a very competitive match 7-11, 11-7, 10-12, 11-5, 11-8 and in the Women’s over 40 finals defeated teammate Greta Primus 11-7, 13-11, 11-8. Primus secured the 2nd spot in the women’s over 40 defeating Carol Valle (BVI) in another competitive match of this category 8-11, 2-11, 11-9, 11-8, 12-10.

Deidre Myers took 3rd spot in the Women’s over 50 and 4th in the women’s over 40.

Men’s Over 40 title went to Vincentian James Bentick who was defending this title in 3 years in succession defeating Mike Adamson (BVI) 11-5, 11-5, 11-2. Third place went to Carlos Segovia of St Lucia.

Men’s over 50 title went to Vincentian Collin Alexander who defeated Telbert Samuel (SVG) 11-8, 7-11, 11-2, 11-7. Winston Findlay (BVI) secured 3rd place and took the Over 60 title by defeating Keith Boyea (SVG) 11-8, 11-9, 11-5.

The team event saw complete dominance of the SVG men’s players who defeated SLU and BVI men’s team 4-0 while SVG vet’s team defeated BVI 3-2.

The SVG women’s team of Tessa Shallow-King, Thandi Myers and Deiriai Myers was not required to play as the other countries did not field a women’s team. SVG was declared the Team Champion for 2014.

At the AGM St Lucian David Piper was returned as President with Sherian Slater (SVG) as Secretary, Carlos Segovia (SLU) Vice President, Carol Valle (BVI) Treasurer, Kevin Hannaway (SVG) Junior Representative, James Bentick coach, Dominica country representative Patrick Martin and Mark Acosta for Antigua.

Platinum sponsor National Lotteries Authority, silver sponsor Ezone and Rick Nick’s café were thanked for their support and success of the tournament.

The top players from this tournament will compete in the Senior Caribbean Squash Championship to be held in Barbados 16th -23th August. Snagg, Bentick, Bailey, Hannaway and Doyle , the top 5 ranked men players will represent SVG in the upcoming International Tournaments the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow in July, Pan American Sports Festival in Mexico September and CAC Games Vera Cruz Mexico in November. The Senior OECS 2015 will be held in Antigua and the Junior Championship in SVG.