The NOC in celebratory mode

The first executive of the National Olympic Committee, NOC, officially formulated in 1987 was headed by Aubrey Burgin as Chairman and included the following members:

Joseph Duncan – Vice President

Wilmoth Seaton – General Secretary

Lynnette Baptiste – Asst. General Secretary

Trevor Bailey – Treasurer

Woodrow Williams – Trustee

Samuel Gordon – Trustee

This country participated in its first Olympic Games in 1988 in Seoul, South Korea, its first CAC Games in Mexico City, Mexico, in 1990, and its first Pan American Games in Havana, Cuba, in 1991.

Suffice it to say here too that even though this country did not have an NOC at the time our athletes were sufficiently adept at making important teams. In 1958, for example, Maurice King, won the bronze medal in his weight class in weightlifting at the Pan American Games in Chicago, representing the Caribbean under the Olympic Committee of the then West Indian Federation. In 1978, Frankie Lucas won gold in the Middleweight division, bearing the colours of St Vincent and the Grenadines in intense boxing competition at the Commonwealth Games in Christchurch, New Zealand.

In 1995, under the banner of the SVGNOC, Eswort Coombs won the bronze medal in the 400m at the Pan American Games in Mar del Plata, Argentina. Later that same year he won the gold medal in the same event at the World University Students Games in Fukuoka, Japan.